top of page
firenze 1.jpg

Rules of the EuCAP Best Paper Awards and Best Student Paper Awards

2023 EuCAP Best Paper Awards

The EuCAP 2023 Best Paper Awards have been created to contribute to the recognition of the scientific quality of research and engineering in four thematic domains:

  • Best Electromagnetics Paper Award. 

  • Best Theory and Design Antenna Paper Award.

  • Best Applied Technology Antenna Paper Award.

  • Best Propagation Paper Award.

  • Best Measurements Paper Award. 


Awards Committee

Among all the papers applied for an award or reported by the reviewers, the Award Co-Chairs choose five finalists for each category. As soon as the lists of all the finalists are available, the Award Co-Chairs will nominate, for each thematic domain, an Award Committee of four distinguished professionals in the field. This procedure avoids the possibility of excluding some finalists from the process because of the incompatibility with the evaluators.

The following juries have been chosen to evaluate the finalist papers:


Best Electromagnetics Paper Award

- Chair: Juan Ramon Mosig, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

- Guy Vandenbosch, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium.

- José Antonio Encinar, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain.

- Richard W. Ziolkowski, University of Technology Sydney, Australia.

- Ari Sihvola, Aalto University, Finland.


Best Theory and Design Antenna Paper Award:

- Chair: Nuria Llombart Juan, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

- Mats Gustafsson, Lund University, Sweden

- Francesca Vipiana, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

- Rick Kindt, Naval Research Laboratory, USA


Best Applied Technology Antenna Paper Award:

- Chair: Thomas Eibert, TU München, Germany

- Jiro Hirokawa, Tokyo Tech, Japan

- Goutam Chattopadhyay, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA

- Anja Skrivervik, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland


Best Propagation Paper Award:

- Chair: Werner Wiesbeck, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

- Sana Salous, Durham University, UK

- Reiner S. Thomä, Ilmenau University of Technology, Germany

- David W. Matolak, University of South Carolina, USA


Best Measurements Paper Award:

- Chair: Agnese Mazzinghi, University of Florence, Italy

- Manuel Sierra Castañer, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

- Luca Salghetti Drioli, European Space Agency, The Netherlands

- Janet O’Neil, ETS-Lindgren, USA.

 EuCAP 2023 Best Student Paper Awards

Application deadline: October 14, 2022.

It is possible to fill in the application for the awards during the paper submission.


The EuCAP 2023 Best Student Paper Award is not related to a specific thematic domain.

Exceptionally the Best Student Paper competition can allow up to two Awards if the quality is sufficient, provided both cover different topical areas among antennas, electromagnetics, propagation, and measurements.


Award Committee

The Award Committee for the Best Student Paper Award is constituted by the four members chosen between the EuCAP 2023 Award Co-chairs:

  • Thomas Eibert

  • Nuria Llombart Juan

  • Agnese Mazzinghi

  • Juan Mosig                                           

  • Werner Wiesbeck


Eligibility for a Best Student Paper Award

The candidate must fulfill the following conditions:

  1. Be a Bachelor, Master, or PhD student at the paper submission deadline (October 14, 2022).

  2. Be at most 35 years old at the conference starting date (March 26, 2023). Exceptions for parental/sick leaves will be considered

  3. Be the first author of the competing paper and have a major contribution to the work. Moreover, a maximum of two co-authors can be over the age of 35

  4. Be registered at EuCAP 2023

  5. Present the paper at the conference in person

  6. Be present at the closing ceremony


Condition 1 must be certified by the supervisor in the form of an accompanying signed letter (PDF format). Conditions 2-3 must be certified by the candidate author after receiving a special request from the Awards Co-Chairs (after the paper acceptance notification and subject to the reviewing score).

EuCAP 2023 Best Student Paper Awards are sponsored by the European School of Antennas (ESoA) and are rewarded with a free ESoA course at the awardee’s choice.

Awards Selection Procedure

The Award Co-Chairs will select five finalists in each thematic domain of the EuCAP 2023 Best Paper Awards and five finalists for the EuCAP 2023 Best Student Paper Awards based on two criteria:

  • The reviewers score and their recommendations for the initially submitted paper.

  • The quality of the final paper.


In addition to the presentation in their regular (oral or poster) sessions, the authors of the selected papers will be invited to compete for the Best Paper Awards in a special Award poster session held on Thursday afternoon, March 30, 2023. Instead, the finalists of the Best Student Paper Award will be invited to present their works in a specific oral session.

The selection of the Best Paper Awards will result from the evaluation of the paper and the special poster/oral presentation by a committee of experts different for each domain. The Co-chairs will choose the members of each committee after the five finalists are selected to avoid any conflict of interest.

In this selection, the main criterion will be technical excellence. Other evaluation criteria are originality and innovation, significance to the antennas and propagation community, potential impact, and clarity of presentation.

All awards will be distributed during the closing ceremony on Friday, March 31, 2023.


Awardees cannot be co-author or belong to the same laboratory as any member of the relevant Awards Committees.


A student can choose applying for either a thematic award or a Best Student paper Award or both. However, the latter choice is not recommended unless the student obtained exceptionally quality results. In any case, a candidate cannot receive more than one award.


Organized by EurAAP

Bronze Sponsors

Supporting Institutions

Silver Sponsors

Further Sponsors

Platinum  Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

bottom of page