top of page
firenze 1.jpg

EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award

The “EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award for best PhD in Antennas & Propagation” (henceforth “the Award”) has been created through a donation from the Per-Simon Kildal Foundation (, initiated by Cécile Schilliger, Madeleine Schilliger Kildal, and Susanne Schilliger Kildal, in memory of their husband and father, Professor Per-Simon Kildal (1951-2016).


Since 2018, the Award is established by the European Association on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP).


The main purpose of the EurAAP Kildal Award is to keep alive Prof. Kildal’s legacy, as well as to foster the work of young researchers in the fields of Antennas and Propagation. This award recognizes an outstanding CV by PhD students or by an individual who has earned a doctoral degree between January 1, 2021, and December 31, 2022. The dissertation can be in any discipline in the field of antennas and propagation.

Selection will be based on the quality and significance of the candidate's contribution to the field, and the recommendation of the referees.


The Award, by nomination only, will be presented annually to an early stage researcher. Candidates for the award must be nominated by their PhD supervisor.


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD

  • at an academic institution in Europe

  • in a field related to Antennas and Propagation

  • in the period from 1 January 2021 – 31 December 2022



The Award will be officially presented every year at the banquet of the European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP). The award consists of a prize of 750 euro, which will be funded by the Kildal Family through a donation, a plaque, and a free EuCAP banquet ticket. The nominators will be asked to submit the following items:

  • A letter of nomination from the dissertation advisor stating the value of the dissertation in terms of its originality, significance, and potential applications in the field of antennas and propagation.

  • An extended abstract of the PhD thesis (maximum six pages) including a list of refereed publications resulting directly from that dissertation.

  • Three representative publications related to the work of the thesis

  • At least two and no more than three supporting letters (not counting the nomination letter from the dissertation advisor), all of which must be from institutions outside the one granting the dissertation. One of the letters must be from industry. 

A committee chaired by Stefano Maci and including four prominent scientists chosen by the EurAAP Board of Directors (BoD), in consultation with the Kildal family, will be in charge for the selection.

The 2023 EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal  Award Committee is composed by: 

  • Eva Rajo-Iglesias (Chair)

  • Stefano Maci

  • Zvonimir Sipus 

  • Ahmed Kishk

  • Madeleine Schillinger-Kildal

 The committee will assign the Award on the basis of: 

  1. Originality, influence, and relevance to the field.

  2. Relevance and quality of the thesis and selected papers;

  3. Scientific standing of the candidate.

The selection will be made based only on the contributions made during the course of the PhD. The Award Committee has the option of not giving an award for any given year if not enough submissions of quality and relevance have been received.


Nomination forms must be submitted by January 31, 2023, together with the publications and endorsements requested using the nomination form available here. The Awards Committee will inform the BoD of the final decision before February 28, 2023.

All the documents should be sent via email to (The Chair of the of the 2023 EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal  Award committee, with copy to the Chair of the EurAAP Awards Committee and the EurAAP Chair).


Prof. Stefano Maci 
Chair of the of the 2023 EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal  Award committee

Prof. Eva Rajo Iglesias
Chair of the EurAAP Awards Committee

Dr. Stefania Monni
EurAAP Chair


Organized by EurAAP

Bronze Sponsors

Supporting Institutions

Silver Sponsors

Further Sponsors

Platinum  Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

bottom of page